Hands on at Whitmuir farm!

The other day, Callum (my partner) and I had a day off so decided to use it wisely for once instead of wasting it! I had heard through word of mouth about Whitmuir farm in relation to their organic fruit and vegetable delivery boxes which were apparently incredible- the photos proved justice to this- so I wanted in on the action!

I was originally just going to order a delivery, but when I realised it was only 16 miles away and completely open for the public to wander, I decided to drive out to see it for myself!

If I’m honest, I have always had a love hate relationship with the farming industry. Where one part of me loves the rural, outdoors-y-ness (??) of the lifestyle, I have always been on the fence regarding animals being reared for produce. After seeing such horrific evidence of mass production of meat and dairy products, it was refreshing to see such happy content animals roaming about the fields enjoying life… This was an industry I could support! In fact when we were on the field one little lamb followed us around for ages, nudging our hands for cuddles and leaping about! So cute I could have melted!

On our arrival, we were a bit clueless with what to do or where to go. You have a few different options! You can go on various walks such as the ‘pig walk’ and ‘duck walk’ to see the animals, there’s a gardening section, a ‘fairy walk’ for children (which the inner child in me loved the most), the organic shop, an art gallery, a grocers and a cafe/restaurant. When we were browsing the shop, we must have looked ‘keen’ because the man working there (part farm owner) asked us if we would like to go for a walk up to see some new piglets!

After traipsing over the field we saw the different animals up close and personal, one pig was about to give birth any day,but despite how uncomfortable she must have been feeling, she came right up to greet us :). The piglets were adorable, all huddled up to feed from mum, the chickens roamed about all of the fields and roads, so docile and social, and we were also welcomed by the token farm dog!

Fairy walk was such a cute and creative feature of the farm, I would definitely recommend it to those with children stuck for something to do over the holidays! The trees all have little doorways which makes for a fun and imaginative walk for playful kids!

After having a wee bite and refreshment in the larder cafe, we went to buy some goodies from the shop. There was so much that the farm produced on its own, however there was also a great supply of organic stock from all over the country, for those interested in a fully organic lifestyle. As most of you know, I am an absolute geek for a good grocers supply of fruit and veg, so I got a bit excited and bought supplies for the next few days of dinner- we also got some nice big organic eggs too -fingers crossed for a double-yolker…

All in all, hayfever attacks aside, it was a great day out. I found it really enlightening to see how an organic farm works and I am definitely more interested in approaching a more organic diet where possible. Does anyone else follow an organic diet? Does anyone oppose it? It is all quite new to me and I am still learning, so I’m very much interested to hear peoples views!

Thank you so much for reading!

AO x

About Amy O

Daydreamer. OT Student. 26 years. Passion for Art, Nature, Botany, Tattoos, Rock and Blues, Yoga & the Cosmos!
This entry was posted in Health blogging, Uncategorized, wellbeing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

