First post! A simple summer dish

 Fresh Salmon With home-made Potato Rosti

(Serves 2)

IMG_3954

So in the last couple of years I have been experimenting with a healthier approach to my life. One of the main parts of this was definitely the changes I brought about in my diet. I have enjoyed dabbling around with different textures and flavours and I have found myself eating things I would NEVER have tried before. I keep track of the things I cook with a simple photo and upload it to Instagram on my foodie account, that way other foodies can appreciate it without me showing a photo of every meal I have to my friends who are probably not interested in the slightest!

The more I have done this though, the more people I have found to be interested in the difference my diet makes to my overall wellbeing. I would like to highlight at this stage that (although a bonus) my diet change has not been to lose weight, but also to improve mood, motivation and health in general. I have been asked many times about my recipes and what inspires me to make these foods and I never really have a solid answer. So I have decided to start this blog, in order to keep track of the different things I learn along the way and also to put up recipes and ideas for those who might be interested in trying something I make.

Since it is my first post…I’m opting for one of the easier dishes tonight, which is a simple summer light bite. My fresh salmon on top of a home-made potato rosti with salad vegetables to garnish. I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

4 x potato (I used normal white cooking potatoes)

Sliced smoked slamon, freshly prepared

Garlic

Salad veg (I used cucumber and tomato, simples!)

Seasoning

Method:

1. After peeling the potatoes, grate each one on to a clean dishtowel. The potato rosti is the real technique in this dish, the trick is to absorb as much of the water as possible after grating.

2. Separate the grated potato into 4 portions, flattening them to get rid of as much water as possible, it can be a bit frustrating moving them around without falling to bit, but the less moisture and more tightly the are packed means that they will stay together better.

3. Heat your frying pan, on a low heat. You can do this with your choice of oil, I used butter to be indulgent but there are many healthier alternatives you might prefer! I used a small rosti-sized pan but any size will do as long as you can hold the potato together.

4. Allow to fry for 5-10 minutes, before turning over to fry the other side. You will know that the potato is cooked when it goes a pale white colour. Repeat this process for each rosti. I usually put on the oven on a low heat to keep them warm whilst the others are cooking.

IMG_3946 IMG_3947

5. Whilst the rostis are cooking, use the time to prepare your salad veg. Cutting the cucumber and tomato and lemon if you like it with fish.

6. The salmon is also easily prepared, this salmon does not need cooked, so simply slice into small strips and season with some chilli flakes to add a little kick!

7. The rest is simply up to you, place the rosti on the plate, topped with cucmber and salmon strips, then garnish and season to taste.

IMG_3950IMG_3948

8. Voila! Now we eat!

IMG_3951

Hope you enjoy this light summer dish. I will be doing a post in the future on salmon and the benefits this has for your body. I should mention now that I opt for a pesco-vegetarian diet so you won’t find any red meat or poultry recipes here! I hope you enjoy reading future posts and I will also put up some more of the tricky recipes in time to come.

That’s all for now,

Amy O x

About Amy O

Daydreamer. OT Student. 26 years. Passion for Art, Nature, Botany, Tattoos, Rock and Blues, Yoga & the Cosmos!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First post! A simple summer dish

  1. I just may try that one

    Like

Leave a Reply

